rusty rider

After ten weeks overseas, one’s riding skills can become a little rusty. Much of this has to do with confidence, so it’s good to get back on and ride, ride, ride at any given opportunity. However, living in Melbourne with its legendary four seasons in one day, means that conditions are not always perfect, but it does give riders the chance to hone their skills in all sorts of weather.

My worst developed skills involve U-turns and roundabouts. The whole point of these is to “look where you want to go” which is good in theory. Sometimes the actual practice is vastly different. Large roundabouts are much easier than the small variety. Because of the long break in riding, my level of confidence had deteriorated somewhat when I approached a rather tiny, unfamiliar roundabout. I was going a little too slowly, and then not looking in the proper direction, so much so that I had to stop right in the middle of the intersection and get my bearings. Slightly embarrassing to say the least, when I have been riding for four years. Suffice to say, I gave myself a good talking to about looking beyond your nose and looking ahead as one should do.

Leave a Reply

